All Collections
Program Configuration
Program Settings
User Flagging: Enable Users to Report Other Users
User Flagging: Enable Users to Report Other Users
Updated over a week ago

Introduction

Enable User Flagging is an optional feature enabled by admins to allow users to raise concerns about other users in the program. The user flagging feature will help ensure that the participants in your program align to your organization's code of conduct as well as your program objectives.

Who is this feature for? Customers running open mentorship platforms in academia or other types of open enrollment programs that allow a broad population of users to opt in and may be susceptible to trolling behavior.

Why it matters: Questionable behavior by users can disrupt your program by compromising a sense of safety for other users. With this feature, users have the option to report other users so that admins can take appropriate actions. User monitoring and resulting admin actions will discourage inappropriate activity by users that may intend to cause disruption. Keep your program a safe and supportive environment for your participants and ensure retention on the platform.

Enabling User Flagging

This feature is available at the individual program level.

Navigation: Manage > Program Configuration > Program Settings > Permissions tab > scroll down to 'Privacy'

In the section titled 'Privacy' find the setting 'Enable user flagging'. There will be 2 or 3 selections available:

  1. Mentors (or your custom term for mentor)

  2. Mentees (or your custom term for mentor)

  3. Third Role: If you have need of a third role in your program, your Chronus CS contact will enable this option for you. As a result, you will have the option to enable user flagging for that role - as shown below by the custom term, 'Mentorship Liaison.'

A user in any role can report another user in any role.

Screenshot 2023-09-10 at 6.57.10 PM.png

Disabling User Flagging

Admins can enable and disable this setting at any time. If there are pending user flags when an admin attempts disable this feature, the system will ask for a confirmation through a pop-up question, “There are [#] pending flags that are yet to be resolved. Are you sure you want to continue?“

End User Flagging Steps

End users can flag another user in two places: Messages and the user profile.

Step 1: Select 'Report User'

When a user receives a message in their inbox, they are able to click on the 3-dot menu and select 'Report User'.

Screenshot 2023-09-08 at 5.41.34 PM.png

A user can also report another user directly from that user's profile:

Screenshot 2023-09-10 at 4.54.29 PM.png

Step 2: Provide Reason

Once the user selects 'Report User', a window will open providing a mandatory text field to add the reason they're reporting the other user. The user also has the option to add an attachment to their notification, e.g., upload any screenshots or files.

Screenshot 2023-09-10 at 4.41.44 PM.png

Step 3: Report and Confirm

Once the user clicks 'Report', they will receive a prompt to confirm and continue, “Your request will be raised to the administrators for review. Are you sure you want to continue?“ Once the user clicks 'OK', a send a notification will be sent to the program administrators. A pop-up message will appear on the bottom left of the user's screen stating, “We have raised your request to the administrators successfully."

Once reported, the user in question will have a 'Reported' flag on their 3-dot menu on their profile card in Messages and anywhere else their profile is accessible to other users as shown in the 2nd screenshot in Step 1.

If any other user clicks on the 'Reported' label for a flagged user, they will see the reason the reporter gave along with the time.

Screenshot 2023-09-10 at 6.41.43 PM.png

Flagged User Reporting and Admin Actions

The flagged users can be found on the 'Flags' page, where flagged content is also found. For more information on flagged content, see: Content Flag: Empower Users to Flag Questionable Content

Navigation: Manage > Reporting > Flags

Screenshot 2023-09-14 at 9.32.26 AM.png

There are two tabs on this page, 'Pending' and 'Resolved'. The 'Pending' tab provided the following information:

  • Name of flagged users (link to profile)

  • Reason provided by reporter

  • Reporter's name (link to profile)

  • Date user was reported

  • Actions the admin can take:

    • Revoke Access

    • Close Flag

Program track admins will only see flags pertaining to users that are in their program(s). Global admins will see all flags for all programs when viewing Manage > Reporting > Flags at the Global level

Taking Action on Flagged Users

Admins have the following options they can take on users that have been flagged:

1. Revoke Access

When an admin clicks 'Revoke Access', a pop-up window appears providing a mandatory field for completion, 'Reason', and two options:

  • 'Suspend Member': To remove them from all programs within the orgranization. Program admins can check with their Global admin to see if they want to suspend the user entirely from the platform.

  • 'Deactivate User': Deactivate a user's membership from the program where they were reported.

Screenshot 2023-09-14 at 9.41.13 AM.png

System message: "Please note that all the flags associated with this user will be resolved on deactivation. Reason will be shared with [Reported User Name] through the deactivation notification. If the user is suspended at the Organization level, the suspension notification will be send out."

"The reporters will be notified through through an administrator message with the following content." (Click to preview!)

Admin Message sent to the reporter on suspending or deactivating the user

Subject: Administrator has responded to your report request on ##{{flagged_member_name}}

"We appreciate you raising the flag request on ##{{flagged_member_name}} with us. In response to your request, we have limited the access for the member. Thank you for bringing this to our notice."

Once either the 'Suspend Member' or 'Deactivate User' process is complete, the flag moves to the 'Resolved' tab on the 'Flagged Users' page.

2. Close Flag

Upon reviewing a user flag, the admin can simply choose to 'Close Flag'. Clicking that button will open a popup with a mandatory text field to provide a reason.

Admin Message sent to the reporter on closing a flag

The message to the admin upon taking this action is, “You are about to close this request and the reporter will be notified through email with the reason for closure. Kindly input all the required details for the reporter.”

Email link provided for admin review:

Subject: Administrator has closed your report request on ##{{flagged_member_name}}

Message: Custom message provided by admin.

Related Articles

Did this answer your question?